Check out our third batch of faces for #30FacesOfApril, a project where we will be featuring 30 NAU students and their college experiences

If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be? "Don't be afraid to reach out and network with people because so many doors open when you do that." -Herbie, Senior, Computer Science
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be?
“Don’t be afraid to reach out and network with people because so many doors open when you do that.” -Herbie, Senior, Computer Science
How have your career plans changed throughout college? “I came to college as a Psychology major, but by the end of my Freshman year I switched to Speech-Language Pathology and loved the classes.  Now that I’m a year away from graduation I plan to get my Masters and pursue either a Doctorate in Audiology or Occupational Therapy.” –Ana, Junior, Speech-Language Pathology
How have your career plans changed throughout college?
“I came to college as a Psychology major, but by the end of my Freshman year I switched to Speech-Language Pathology and loved the classes. Now that I’m a year away from graduation, I plan to get my Masters and pursue either a Doctorate in Audiology or Occupational Therapy.” –Ana, Junior, Speech-Language Pathology
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why?  “I wanted to be either a volcanologist or a train conductor. Both seemed awesome. Volcanologists get to see active volcanoes and train conductors get to go on rails all day and just drive. It seems calm.” –Luis, Junior, Electronic Media and Film
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why?
“I wanted to be either a volcanologist or a train conductor. Both seemed awesome. Volcanologists get to see active volcanoes and train conductors get to go on rails all day and just drive. It seems calm.” –Luis, Junior, Electronic Media and Film
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why?”  “Growing up, I wanted to be 2 things. A police officer and a marine biologist. I wanted to be a police officer because I thought that protecting people from my neighborhood was important and police officers didn’t always do that where I grew up so I wanted to be that change. I wanted to be a marine biologist because I love dolphins and I wanted to study aquatic life to help make a sustainable environment.” –Yoleidy, Assistant Director for Inclusion and Multicultural Services
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why?”
“Growing up, I wanted to be 2 things. A police officer and a marine biologist. I wanted to be a police officer because I thought that protecting people from my neighborhood was important and police officers didn’t always do that where I grew up so I wanted to be that change. I wanted to be a marine biologist because I love dolphins and I wanted to study aquatic life to help make a sustainable environment.” –Yoleidy, Assistant Director for Inclusion and Multicultural Services
What has been the most meaningful experience of college so far? “I have many. There’s the time I was homeless for an entire summer. I’m an out of state student and had to figure things out on my own. My friend Josh took me in and helped me power through. He introduced me to our interest group trying to start a fraternity, which we did. We started the first Lambda Phi Epsilon chapter in the entire state of Arizona. From the moment I was taken in, a sheer amount of possibilities opened up for me. I got to travel to New York, Florida, and California. That’s a long ways away from home as an island boy of Maui and Guam.” –Angelo, Senior, Sociology
What has been the most meaningful experience of college so far?
“I have many. There’s the time I was homeless for an entire summer. I’m an out of state student and had to figure things out on my own. My friend Josh took me in and helped me power through. He introduced me to our interest group trying to start a fraternity, which we did. We started the first Lambda Phi Epsilon chapter in the entire state of Arizona. From the moment I was taken in, a sheer amount of possibilities opened up for me. I got to travel to New York, Florida, and California. That’s a long ways away from home as an island boy of Maui and Guam.” –Angelo, Senior, Sociology
What has been the most meaningful experience of college so far? “Going to World Model United Nations with the NAU MUN team and meeting people from 117 countries around the world who are all dedicated to creating global change.” –Connor, Junior, Political Science
What has been the most meaningful experience of college so far?
“Going to World Model United Nations with the NAU MUN team and meeting people from 117 countries around the world who are all dedicated to creating global change.” –Connor, Junior, Political Science
How have your career plans changed throughout college? “At first I thought I wanted to do Physical therapy, but after doing some research and taking classes I changed to Exercise Science.” –Taylor, Freshman, Exercise Science
How have your career plans changed throughout college?
“At first I thought I wanted to do Physical therapy, but after doing some research and taking classes I changed to Exercise Science.” –Taylor, Freshman, Exercise Science
Leave a Reply

