Check out our second batch of faces for #30FacesOfApril, a project where we will be featuring 30 NAU students and their college experiences.

If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be? “Don’t be afraid to step out of element and try new things. Be adventurous.” –Jamaica, Graduate Student, Education
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be?
“Don’t be afraid to step out of your element and try new things. Be adventurous.” –Jamaica, Graduate Student, Education
Katie1
How have your career plans changed throughout college? “I came into college undeclared and not knowing what I wanted to do with my life. My second semester freshman year I discovered I was passionate about social work and its values and I’ve loved my career decision ever since.” –Katie, Senior, Social Work
Erickson1
Where do you see yourself in 10 years? “I see myself working on the Navajo reservation helping Navajo youth.” –Erickson, Junior, Psychology
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why? “I wanted to be the female Indiana Jones because he was a BA. Then I became an Anthropology major and learned how very wrong his practices were…” –Claire, Senior, Anthropology and Art Education
As a child, what did you want to be when you grow up? Why?
“I wanted to be the female Indiana Jones because he was a BA. Then I became an Anthropology major and learned how very wrong his practices were…” –Claire, Senior, Anthropology and Art Education
How have your career plans changed throughout college? “I would say I originally wanted to be a high school teacher and be a part of the education system, but I realized my other passion is for the outdoors and if I was to be in education I needed to do that outside. So now here I am at REI, working my way up to doing outdoor education programs and outreach. One day I would really like to get into helping juveniles connect to society through nature experiences, like the work I did with Outward Bound. Working in a team of ten or so people to communicate and experience the wilderness together really helps you learn to function in the broader society.” –Justin, Junior, Hotel and Restaurant Management
How have your career plans changed throughout college?
“I would say I originally wanted to be a high school teacher and be a part of the education system, but I realized my other passion is for the outdoors and if I was to be in education I needed to do that outside. So now here I am at REI, working my way up to doing outdoor education programs and outreach. One day I would really like to get into helping juveniles connect to society through nature experiences, like the work I did with Outward Bound. Working in a team of ten or so people to communicate and experience the wilderness together really helps you learn to function in the broader society.” –Justin, Junior, Hotel and Restaurant Management
Where do you see yourself in 10 years? “I see myself working on the Navajo reservation helping Navajo youth.” –Erickson, Junior, Psychology
What has been the most meaningful experience in college so far? “I think probably getting to know my professors was a very important thing. I didn’t get to know all of them or even most of them but there were three big ones and I was in their offices all of the time. And then also working here at Canyon Vet Hospital because I’m getting to know the job and all the animals and people. You can plan for your career all you want, but you don’t really know what it will be like until you try it out and see if it’s what you want to do.” –Shauna, Senior, Biology
If you could give incoming freshman advice, what would it be? “Stay in the dorms. It’s a great way to meet new friends and it’s nice because everything is close on campus.” –Zach, Freshman, Public Health
If you could give incoming freshman advice, what would it be?
“Stay in the dorms. It’s a great way to meet new friends and it’s nice because everything is close on campus.” –Zach, Freshman, Public Health
Where do you see yourself in 10 years? “I see myself graduating, being done with all my schooling, and beginning my life career as a clinical neuropsychologist. –Lexi, Freshman, Psychology
Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
“I see myself graduating, being done with all my schooling, and beginning my life career as a clinical neuropsychologist. –Lexi, Freshman, Psychology
If you could give incoming freshman advice, what would it be? “Get involved and meet new people. Talk to everyone and don’t be shy.” –William, Freshman, Hotel and Restaurant Management
If you could give incoming freshman advice, what would it be?
“Get involved and meet new people. Talk to everyone and don’t be shy.” –William, Freshman, Hotel and Restaurant Management
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be? “Roll with the punches.  The most consistent fact about college is that things will always change. Embrace that, and everything is a lot easier.” –Jermaine, Junior, Psychology
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be? “I wish I could have put more thought into what I wanted to do before I started! I came in with an undeclared major and had no idea where I wanted to go or what I wanted to do, so I wish I had though harder about what I really wanted to do and considered my strengths and weaknesses and gone from there.” –Kacie, Junior, Art Education
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be? “Roll with the punches.  The most consistent fact about college is that things will always change. Embrace that, and everything is a lot easier.” –Jermaine, Junior, Psychology
If you could give your freshman-self advice, what would it be?
“Roll with the punches. The most consistent fact about college is that things will always change. Embrace that, and everything is a lot easier.” –Jermaine, Junior, Psychology
Leave a Reply

