Brenden Pitt, Class of 2003

BSEd. History/Social Studies & Secondary Education, M.Ed. Student Affairs with Counseling Emphasis

Resident Services Manager at The Guidance Center

brenden pitt

What was your career plan during college? Did this change once you graduated?

“I didn’t really have a career plan during college. I wanted to become a high school social studies teacher and live abroad. While doing my student teaching I applied for the Japanese Exchange and Teaching (JET) Program. I was accepted and from 2004-2007 I was taught English as a foreign language in a Japanese high school as the only non-native Japanese teacher in the school. My experience living abroad made me want to work with international students in a college environment, so I came back to NAU to earn my Master’s degree. Once I graduated, my career path changed again and now I am working in mental health as a case manager and group home supervisor for the severely mentally ill.”

How did NAU prepare you for your career?

“That’s a hard question to answer because I’m not currently working in either field I studied for at NAU.”

Where are you now? Please tell us about your current career, job location, and pros/cons.

“I’m currently employed by The Guidance Center in Flagstaff. My title is the Resident Programs Manager and I’m responsible for a group home that houses SMI & homeless adults. I enjoy the work as I am embedded with the people I work with and assist on a daily basis. The one con is the unit must be staffed 24-7 and so making sure there is coverage and the constant feeling of being on-call can be a bit draining.”

What advice do you have for current NAU students?

“I know many people have probably told you this, but it is very true: Get as much experience in your field as possible during your college days. It will be very helpful in getting a job once you graduate and also will give you an idea if that’s a career field you want to go into. The mistake that I made was that I didn’t get enough experience prior to graduating and that made finding employment more difficult after graduation. As someone who reviews resume`s for job openings, I would recommend experience as well.”

What was your favorite part about NAU Flagstaff?

“I would say my participation in Greek Life and as a new student orientation leader are my two favorite parts of NAU. Many of the friends and connections I made in those areas continue to be my friends today.”

Leave a Reply

