Our seniors are graduating and taking their next steps. We cheered them on as they turned the tassel and now we’re rooting for them as we watch where they go next! Let’s meet a few of our newest alumni and see what their plans are.

Robert Grad Pics-4 (2)Robert Valenzuela is an environmental studies major, electronic film and media minor interested in environmental public relations and being a documentarian. Robert’s career mission is his “passion for change.”

  1. What transferable skill do you feel most confident in after your time at NAU?

After my time at NAU, I have learned many transferable skills. The most valuable skill I received from NAU is the ability to market myself to professionals. Whether it is for a job, internship, or volunteer work, NAU has given me the skills to make connections with people and build a professional work profile.

  1. Where will you be in August 2014 and what do you think you’ll be doing?

In August 2014 I will still be in Flagstaff. I will be working with a local start-up production company. I will also return to NAU to pursue a master’s degree in communications, focusing on documentary studies.

  1. What experiences have helped you to develop professional skills?

Throughout my experience at NAU, I have many wonderful experiences. Some of these experiences have helped me develop professional skills. The most important of these experiences is my internship with Green NAU and the Green NAU Energy Initiative. My internship experience allowed me to work with professionals, develop and build a professional portfolio, and receive real world working experience.

  1. Where do you see yourself in two years?

In two years I see myself receiving my master’s degree in communication at NAU. I also foresee the local production company taking off and proving to be a fruitful investment.

  1. What tips do you have for other NAU students as they prepare for their careers?

I advise them to work hard and be open to opportunity. In my experience, working hard will reward you with a variety of opportunities. So keep a positive attitude and don’t give up, an opportunity is waiting for you to grasp it.

morgan barhnhart

Morgan Barnhart is a biomedical science major, chemistry minor interested in research, physical therapy, or being a physician assistant. Her career goal is “to ultimately help better people’s lives and to help them live a healthy, happy life!”

  1. What transferable skill do you feel most confident in after your time at NAU?

My willingness to learn and try new things as well as my ability to think critically are two skills I feel confident in after being here at NAU.

  1. Where will you be in August 2014 and what do you think you’ll be doing?

Living in Washington, interning with different doctors, enjoying a break from school, and hoping to find a job in the medical field.

  1. What experiences have helped you to develop professional skills?

Many classes have required me to write professional papers, present topics in a professional manner, and have given me an idea of what to expect in the professional world.

  1. Where do you see yourself in two years?

Hopefully graduate school or medical school depending on the career path I choose!

  1. What tips do you have for other NAU students as they prepare for their careers?

Explore all your options! Talk to different people in your field of interest to get an idea of what it is like and if you can really see yourself loving that profession. Do something you have a passion for and don’t settle for anything less.

WP_20140503_011 (2)

Justin Bigelow is a history major, international relations minor interested in non-governmental organizations and non-profit organizations. His career goal is “to do work that I can be proud of that will help others at a basic, human level.”

  1. What transferable skill do you feel most confident in after your time at NAU?

I would consider the ability to communicate effectively to be the greatest skill I’ve been coached on while here. Additionally, the many group projects have helped to hone my collaborative skill set which will be extremely important for my chosen career path.

  1. Where will you be in August 2014 and what do you think you’ll be doing?

As of August 2014, I will be in Washington, D.C. beginning one year of service through AmeriCorps VISTA with the National Human Services Assembly. My job there will be to assist the organization as they strive to expand their network of non-profit organizations and formulate effective policy to assist low-income communities with access to health and human services.

  1. What experiences have helped you to develop professional skills?

The extensive research and writing I’ve done while at NAU as a student in the College of Liberal Arts and Social and Behavioral Sciences has been extremely beneficial. However, if I had to choose one course or professor it would Dr. Mike Childers. He was an amazing professor that helped transform my writing. The HIS 205 course was instrumental in my development as an effective writer. In addition, the numerous group projects and presentations have sharpened my abilities to communicate both in collaborative and informational settings.

  1. Where do you see yourself in two years?

In two years I will be beginning graduate school or preparing to leave for a service term with the Peace Corps.

  1. What tips do you have for other NAU students as they prepare for their careers?

Regardless of your career, you must be able to communicate. Whether it is through emails, reports, or face-to-face conversations, you must be able to communicate effectively and professionally. So, when you take English courses PAY ATTENTION! 

Photo from NAU Facebook
Photo from NAU Facebook

NAU Career is proud of our nearly 5,000 graduates/newest Alumni! You made it through undergrad and although we’re sad to see you go, we are rooting for you! Remember, you have free access to Gateway Career Services for one full year after you graduate…we’re still here to help!

Instead of referencing “Oh! The Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss I’ll leave you with this quote:  “If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” –Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

