Have you ever wondered who the super-informed student behind “The Smart-Axe Guide to Careers” is or how they got there?  This post is for you!

Gateway Career Services currently has three Career Jack student workers: Carissa, Erika, and Katie.  These busy juniors keep our Walk-in Career Advising sessions running, work hard to keep your questions answered via career.services@nau.edu, and activate student accounts and jobs in Jobs for Jacks.  The list goes on and on, but here’s what the Career Jacks themselves have to say about the work they do:

Carissa: “I walk in and say hi to everyone, log onto the computer, catch up with the people I work with to see what needs to happen that day, and then work on loading information from my emails into our social media accounts.  I also make a lot of to do lists!”

Image

Erika: “I activate jobs, email students, meet with students, and at times even talk to employers.”

Image

Katie: “I check emails, look at the Career Services events calendar, check to see if there are any new projects or clarifications on on-going projects.  I work on a lot of projects, but when I do walk-in advising I help students who have questions about cover letters, resumes, Jobs for Jacks issues, and things like that.”

Image

The Career Jacks work hard but have the opportunity to learn first-hand about career development as they gain new skills through their work.  Erika reflects, “I have learned, obviously, how to prepare a resume.  I’ve learned how to network and make connections with different departments on campus and different student groups.  I’ve learned good skills for interviewing and time management.”  Meanwhile, Katie feels, “it’s helped me see what employers look for in students and how I can gain the skills necessary to get the career I want in the future.”

How to Join Our Team:

Are you wondering how you could join this awesome team and start working on those skills? You’re in luck- we’re hiring!  If you will be a sophomore or junior in the fall and are available to work 10-20 hours a week, we’d love to see your resume, cover letter, and application by March 26th.  Our current Career Jacks say the following characteristics will help you succeed in the position:

  • Friendly
  • Professional
  • Comfortable taking on challenges
  • Self-initiative
  • Integrity and responsibility
  • Passion for helping students
  • Hard worker
  • Dependable
  • Sense of humor

Not sure if this is the right fit for you?  Here’s the voice of “The Smart-Axe Guide to Careers,” Carissa, with a parting reflection on her work as a Career Jack:

“It’s good to see where I need to be with my career.  I feel like I wouldn’t know where to be without this job and it’s helpful to know all the services we offer.  My own resume is better now, and it helps to mentor other students and see where they want to be, and what steps they need to take to get there that I often need to take too. Working with advisors is awesome because I have all these resources at my fingertips!”

Leave a Reply

